Swift Fox; An Abridged Autobiography

Hi! Thanks for taking a moment to get to know me a little better.

So where to start? Well I'm an adult male, 42 years old, happily married for over a dozen years, living near Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania with my dear and loving unicorn Silaria who does her best to keep me under hoof and out of trouble. I work as an architectural designer for a large engineering firm in the City of Pittsburgh. When I'm not designing and managing multi-million dollar construction projects, I'm the First Lieutenant, Secretary and Training Officer for my local volunteer fire department. I've been working in the architectural field for the last 18 years and have been a firefighter and emergency responder for over 20 years.

Sil and I are the proud owner of two shetland sheepdogs, or "shelties" A pair of litter mates; our male is named Edan and our female is CJ. They're both 4 years old and they're working hard together mastering skills in obedience and dog agility. My first dog, a female Finnish spitz, passed away after 17 strong years in 2009; and Candy, our female malamute shelter rescue preceeded us into the next life, after 11 years with us, in 2006. There are a few pics of Mel and Candy out in the Gallery section of the website.

My wife and I are avid role playing gamers. We've been indulging in Dungeons and Dragon's gaming since we met in college in the late 80's. Since then we've picked up on games like StarWars, IronClaw, ShadowRun, Teen-aged Mutant Ninja Turtles and White Wolf game systems. Recently, we've become Looney Lab Demo Rabbits and we actively market Looney Lab's card and pyramid games like Fluxx and Chrononauts and Treehouse and Martian Coasters. Other hobbies include travelling, sailing, camping, hiking, backpacking, writing, photography, astronomy, and NASCAR just to name a few.

I've been involved in the Furry Fandom since my introduction to Alt.Lifestyles.Furry back in 1997. My species is the cross fox variant of the red fox. For me my connection to Fox is a spiritual one. A mix of Shamanism and Totemism, Fox is my current spirit guide. It took a couple years to get the nerve to actually attend my first furry con, but in 1999 I attended Anthrocon at the Hilton in King of Prussia, PA. Since then, I've been to every AC since and have added MidWest FurFest and Furry Connection North to the list of conventions we attend. I'm an avid fursuiter, having built my first costume around a Lyonshel prosthetic dalmatian mask and my original issue firefighting gear. I built the costume to promote fire safety with the fire department I belong to and also shared it with the furry community for three years at Anthrocon. Since getting my paws wet I have since acquired four other partial suits to bring to life: Rocky, the white husky, Safety, the Firefighter Fox, Ashes v.2, and recently a border collie named April.

Giving back to the furry community which has brought me so much joy and friendship, I have been hosting a gaggle of local fur meets since 2000. The largest of these is the Western Pennsylvania Furry Weekend, held in October. For more information on these and other local events please check the links on my homepage.

Thanks for stopping by. There's so much more to tell, but this will do for giving you, my visitor, a small look into who I am and what I'm about.